jump to navigation

Natural Causes May 2, 2005

Posted by batduck in Books, Reviews.
trackback

posted Mon, 05/02/05


Natural Causes

Michael Palmer

Date: December 1, 1994   —   7.50   —   Book

product page

Rating:

 

 

From Publishers Weekly
The latest medical thriller from the author of Extreme Measures portrays a holistic healing OB/GYN who discovers that her patients are mysteriously dying from an herbal vitamin she had prescribed.
Copyright 1994 Reed Business Information, Inc.
From School Library Journal
YA-Several deaths occur from definitely unnatural causes in this fast-paced medical thriller that features genetic engineering of a recombinant DNA virus and alternative, nontraditional healing methods. In the final stages of labor, a woman suddenly screams at the pain in her fingers and hands, blood gushes from her nose and mouth, and then she dies. The third time this happens, the common thread points to obstetrician Sarah Baldwin and the herbal vitamin supplements she has prescribed for expectant mothers. Sarah’s reputation, her hard work, and her future are in jeopardy unless she and her inexperienced lawyer can prove her innocence. Palmer captures the hospital environment of medicine, politics, community involvement, and relationship with the drug industry. Although slightly overlong, with several plot twists too many, this exciting page-turner will appeal to fans of Robin Cook and Michael Crichton.

Advertisements

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: