jump to navigation

Full Circle December 18, 2006

Posted by batduck in Friends & Family.
trackback

posted Mon, 12/18/06

In January, when I drove down to FIU to attend my first day of class, I cried the entire time.  When I reached the parking garage next to the building where my classes were being held, I sat in my car for a few minutes trying to stop crying.  When the tears wouldn’t stop coming, I actually left campus and started driving back home, I got to the entrance of the Turnpike and rather than turning on to it, I did a U-turn and went back to class. 

I was missing my mom.  Upset that she wasn’t there to see my first day of graduate school after she had pushed me so hard towards it all her life.  In the end, just before class started I was able to get myself under control and I went in…

Saturday was my last day of class.  At 12:30 I gave my classmates a hug, told them I’d see them later at our party and got in my car to drive home.  First I called the Hubby and gave him the news that I was on my way home a graduate.  Then I called Daddy and then the Fuentes family.  After giving the good news to the three people who wanted to hear it the most, I called back the hubby and admitted how weird it actually felt because I was very happy but also very sad.  After I hung up with him, I drove the entire way home in tears…  exactly as I had a year before on the first day of class, missing mom and hoping she knew I did it.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

