jump to navigation

Work Annoys Me February 27, 2008

Posted by battysgirl in Friends & Family.
trackback

In mid-December the College I work for opened their new building for businesses and as such there was a great number of faculty and staff that were moved around, either into the new building or to a different location in the original building. If you’ve been a regular reader, you’ve probably seen my post about my new office and the window people go ga-ga over.

In any event, in this move, our department has taken charge of a conference room. For the most part, this room is open most of the day. If a different department within the College needs to use the room, they simply send me an e-mail and I check the availability on the calendar and get back to them with an answer as to whether or not they can use.

The College, however, has decided that they have to have a particular kind of special event location booking software. Since I book this ONE conference room, I now have to sit through EIGHT HOURS of training. Now, I have to be honest, I originally started this blog post because I was so annoyed that they have said that this is a mandatory training and no one is here, but then I double checked the e-mail they sent demanding my attendance and realized its not to start for another fifteen minutes, I was too early in my trip downstairs.

I’m still annoyed that I have to go through all this training simply so that I can book a conference room two or three times a week. I mean this is an entire day of work, a whole eight hours, it seems excessive and silly.

When I walked in to the lab where the training was to take place, one of our employees was setting up the room for the training. When I asked him if he thought this training would really take a full eight hours of two days, he nodded and said, “yeah, probably.”

As an update, the training was scheduled to start ten minutes ago…

Another update, its half past one, and we haven’t truly started yet…

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

