jump to navigation

Wicked March 24, 2008

Posted by batduck in Friends & Family.
trackback

     
   wicked_img

Wicked

Joe Mantello, Director

product page

Four star. (of a possible four)

 

 

 

 

 

 Web Site Description:

Long before Dorothy dropped in, two other girls meet in the Land of Oz.  One, born of emerald green skin, is smart, fiery and misunderstood.  The other is beautiful, ambitious and very popular.  How these tow unlikely friends end up as the Wicked Witch of the West and Glinda the Good Witch makes for the most spellbinding new musical in years.

WICKED, the untold story of the witches of Oz, features music and lyrics by Stephen Schwartz (Godspell, Pippin, Academy Award-winner for Pocahontas and "The Prince of Egypt") and book by Winnie Holzman ("My So-Called Life", "Once And Again" and "thirtysomething"), and is based on the best-selling novel by Gregory Maguire.  With musical staging by Tony Award winner Wayne Cilento (Aida, The Who’s Tommy, How to Succeed…), WICKED is directed by 2003 and 2004 Tony Award-winner Joe Mantello (Take Me Out, Frankie and Johnny in the Clair de Lune, Glengarry Glen Ross.)

 

From Batduck:

Okay…so I love musicals, I admit it.  I loved Cats.  I teared up when I first saw Phantom.  I even enjoy opera!  There’s nothing wrong with that.  It may not be the manliest of endeavors, but I never claimed to be the macho-est man around.

So when my wife gets me tickets to see Wicked I was VERY excited!  I listened to the book on CD recently and loved it, so I was looking forward to seeing the show.  I was far from disappointed.

The show was magnificent!  Yes, that’s awfully high praise, but it was truly a delight to watch.  The music was all memorable without being too "jingly".  The story was gripping and you truly cared for the characters (even the minor ones….like poor Boq)  There were some changes from the book though.  Some where necessary because of the medium, but others were decisions made by the writers.  The ending for instance is a bit different from the book, but truth be told, I like it better than the book. 

Go watch the show, then go buy the book.  There’s enough ground not covered in the musical to make the book an enjoyable read.

Comments»

1. David - March 25, 2008

As did everyone else I loved Wicked and have now seen it three times

One tip to anyone who wants to see it: check out http://www.broadwaybox.com/shows/wicked_nyc_tickets.aspx where you can tell them what dates you want to go and they will sort the tickets by price and put them on a seating chart so that you can see where the tickets are located (the only site i know of which does that). Helped me alot!


Leave a Reply

