jump to navigation

Pregnancy Week Sixteen November 2, 2008

Posted by battysgirl in Baby Fever.
trackback

What the Experts Say:

Mother:

You may begin to feel the baby move around this point. This is more likely to happen now if you are a multipara (someone who has had a previous child) or if you are very thin. Generally you will feel the baby move about one month earlier than you did in a previous pregnancy, mainly because you know what you are feeling. It is not uncommon for first time mothers to not recognize fetal movements until 22-24 weeks. These first movements are called “quickening.” They can also be used in helping to determine your due date.

Baby:

Your baby’s nails are well formed, and some babies are even in need of having their nails trimmed at birth. The ears have also moved from the neck to the head.

Your baby is emptying his or her bladder every 40-45 minutes. The limb movements are becoming more coordinated. Your baby is about 3 ounces (85 grams) and 6.3 inches (16 cms). The gender may be detectable by ultrasound.

What’s Going on With Us:

We got into the doctor’s office this week for a whole battery of tests and the second of the Genzyme screening tests.  I wonder if I will start worrying for nothing simply waiting for the results.  The first portion of the Genzyme screening was negative so I hope I won’t freak out unnecessarily.

I continue to feel really good.  My energy levels fluctuate a lot though and one night I’m out cold at 8:00 and the next I’m up to my usual 11:00, there is no rhyme or reason.  Otherwise, with the humidifier I haven’t had such terrible congestion in the morning and the feeling full quickly sensation is easy to get around with small frequent meals.

Other exciting news, we felt the baby squirm this past week, I don’t feel it spontaneously but when I press the palm of my hand over my lower tum tum I was able to feel the baby squirm just slightly underneath it and then Manny was able to feel it too.

Wow, just wow.  I’ll come to our blog and just stare at all the baby’s pictures so far, or at the background of my phone which is a copy of one of the ultrasounds, or take the hardcopies out of my purse and gaze at them… I’m so totally flabbergasted that this teeny tiny human lives in me right now and in a few more months I”ll hold him/her in my arms.  Whoa.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

