jump to navigation

Pregnancy Week 21 December 8, 2008

Posted by battysgirl in Baby Fever.
trackback
What the Experts Say
Mother:

Everyone is probably telling you what sex your baby is using different myths! Some people find this fun, other find it annoying. Using things like how you carry, what you eat, the Chinese Gender Chart, or other myths are fun, but not always accurate. Have you decided whether you want to find out the gender of your baby? There are many things to consider before doing so, and still your baby may not cooperate.

Baby:

Your baby can still move all over in the amniotic fluid. Towards the end of this trimester the baby will begin to settle, usually in a head down position (Although some babies do not turn head down until late in the last trimester.). About 3-4% of babies will remain in a breech position at term. Your baby weighs just under a pound (13 ounces or 369 grams).

(weights can vary widely. See your practitioner with questions.)

Dad:

Don’t panic over childbirth classes. Every dad there is probably having similar feelings to you. Just smile and know that your childbirth educator is not going to call you out in class. It’s not a pass/fail class – think of it as auditing.

What’s Going on With Us

People are starting to notice I’m pregnant now and its always fun to see the looks on people’s faces as they try to figure out if I’ve just gotten fatter or if I’m pregnant.  Of course, it also depends on what I’m wearing.

I continue to feel the little one move consistently.  She’s got pretty steady patterns and seems to be a night owl more than a day person – of course as I type this at 10:13 AM she’s doing summersaults just to make me out to be a liar!

Also, I can hear her little heart beating with a regular old stethoscope now too which is reassuring when I don’t feel her moving around when I’m used to feeling it.

At our visit this week, her heart beat was a steady 145 BPM for those of you keeping track and later this week we’ll have another appointment with the perinatologist.  This means, new pictures on Thursday for you all and HOPEFULLY good news that my marginal placenta previa has moved up a big so I’m off pelvic rest!  I’m pretty sure that the placenta will move up but, if it doesn’t by 36 weeks its  scheduled C-Section (boo!)

Overall I continue to feel great.  I have lots of energy during the day and I’m quite spry, however, towards the evening or if I’ve over extended myself too much the day before (like by walking around the mall for six hours hoping for inspiration for Christmas gifts) then I’m sore in my hips, thighs and lower back.

The best part about this week?  We’re officially over the hump, we have less time left until she’s here than has passed already, only 19 weeks to go!!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

