jump to navigation

Six months in. October 14, 2009

Posted by battysgirl in Being a Mom, Celeste.
trackback

Dear Celeste,

You turn six months old today.  Wow.  I can’t believe you’ve been in our lives (outside of my tummy) for half a year already.  At the same time, I can’t believe that its only been six months!  I can barely remember what life was like before you were in it.

You amaze me every single day.  Watching you learn and grow has been a wonderful journey and I can’t wait to see where it leads us.  You wake up every morning with a big smile on your face and go to sleep the same way.  Even during your crankiest tantrums, you would rather smile than cry and as such sometimes they go something like this: “Wahhh, *sniffle* *smile* *laugh,* wahhh.”  No matter what we’re doing or where we go, we are stopped by well wishers and strangers who want to meet you and melt when you smile at them.

Waiting for you was a painful journey but having you in our life has made that pain fade away.  You’ve removed the pain so much  that I can barely remember telling your father in the ER after our second miscarriage that I wanted to give up trying to have a baby.  I am so glad he didn’t listen to me that night.

Being your mom has been the most rewarding thing I’ve ever done and I can’t wait to continue.  Just the other night you woke up shortly after going to sleep for the night, you didn’t need much, just a snuggle from Mommy to go back down again.  While I cuddled you to sleep, you smiled up at me as you were drifting off.  You woke up once, jerking awake and looked around.  As soon as you saw me you settled back down to sleep and I sat with you like that for a few minutes, just savoring the feeling before putting you gently into your crib where you slept through the rest of the night.

Its only been six months, Celeste, but already my arms feel empty when you’re not in them and my day less bright when I’m away from your radiant smile.

I love you.

Mom.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

