jump to navigation

She Makes Me Feel So Proud! April 8, 2012

Posted by battysgirl in Friends & Family.
trackback

And by making me proud I don’t mean of her, but of myself.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I am proud of her, and in awe of what she can accomplish but I’m not writing about that here.  I expected to be proud of my kid.  I think every parent is, but I didn’t expect her to make me feel proud of myself.

I’ve done some good in my life.  I’ve worked hard (both professionally and as a student), I’ve loved well and given freely of myself to those who needed something I could provide.  I feel a moderate amount of pride in these accomplishments, but its nothing compared to how she can make me feel like I’m on top of the world.

As an example, we visited a friend and her 2 year old little boy recently .  Before arriving, Celeste and I discussed that her playmate is younger and much smaller than she is and that she will need to be gentle when playing with him.  Once we got to their house to play, we learned that he’s currently in a bit of an aggressive and non-sharing stage.  I asked Celeste to be extra careful in sharing and to be understanding if she didn’t get a turn with a toy when she wanted to.  She was a darling with him.  If he didn’t share, she pulled her hand back and played with something else.  If he yanked a toy out of her hand, she looked at me, saw me smile and I guess, remembered our talk and let him have it.  Seeing my child behave so well with others, makes me proud of the lessons I’m teaching her.

Today, as we’re engrossed in some home projects, we ate lunch on the run between trips to the home store at a fast food restaurant.  Before I stayed at home with the kids, this would have been the kind of meal she ate until not a crumb was left on her plate.  Instead, she ate one piece of chicken, a few french fries and drank all her milk.  At home, I made a turkey/veggie meatloaf, corn on the cob and rice.  She ate an entire ear of corn, all her rice and all of her meatloaf.  She makes me proud that she shows a preference to home cooked meals over processed fast food.  The pride I feel in a cooking a meal that she enjoys is unsurpassed by any I feel cooking for friends and even the hubby.

She often will see me working with yarn on some project for a friend.  I feel an odd pride when she hands me a skein of yarn or points to a pattern in a book and says, “Make this, Mommy,” and then gets all excited when I do.

The moments I feel my most proud of myself, as a parent, come when she says off hand things about her home life.  Like, “Mommy and Daddy are my best friends,” or, “What a wonderful family.”  I love knowing that my little one is growing up in an environment that fosters such comments.  That she feels secure and loved.  That she enjoys the time she spends with us and vocalizes it so easily.  I know that the time will come that Mommy and Daddy will no longer be her best friends, that we’ll be her enemies for a time; but I’m okay with that as long as we come full circle eventually.

Being a mother is the most fulfilling role I’ve ever played in my life.  I am so blessed to have enjoyed every single aspect of motherhood.  I loved being pregnant.  I loved labor.  I love parenting my girls.  Even when she’s pushing my buttons, I can see the intelligence and loving nature of Celeste and that, above all else makes me proud to say I’ve played a role in creating this little person.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

